Syma X5C WiFi antenna and battery

Discussion in 'Specific Models of Quadcopters and Drones' started by Magniko, Feb 5, 2017.

1. Magniko

Magniko New Member

Hi

I am quite new to this drone hobby, but I have flown my X5C for quite a while now

Range is a problem for me though. It can barely get longer than 30m away, though at rare instances, it can go up to maybe 50m but with unstable signal

I read up on the possibility to solder a pigtail and a 2.4GHz antenna to the transmitter to gain more range

However, from reading up on what ranges people get after doing this, the results differ alot

Some barely get 100m more, while others can get up to 300m.

I for one really want to get the optimum range, which might be around 200m-300m as the drone will be invisible for the naked eye further away

So my question is, what is the optimal WiFi antenna for this? I have absolutely zero knowledge on how transmission work, but I know higher DbI gives stronger signal, though it's highly directional

Also, a second question is: what kind of additional batteries should I buy? I know that the higher the milliAmpere-Hour it is, the longer the flight time can be. But I also know that if the mAh is too high, it will put excessive amount of strain on the engines, shortening their lifetime by alot

So what would be the optimal batteries to opt for?

Besides, are these batteries(800mAh) good enough? http://www.Banggood.com/4Pcs-3_7V-800MAH-25C-Battery-And-Charger-For-Syma-X5C-1-X5SC-X5SW-M68-CX30-U816A-U818A-WLtoys-V929-p-1008693.html

Or should I go for something lower than that?

2. RGJameson

RGJameson Active Member

Seems like they should work.
    That's what I've done in the past and there is less chance of screwing something up. Add enough wire to get ~62mm total length.

3. Chris Rose

Chris Rose New Member