Help, Need advise for novice camera drone

Discussion in 'Misc. Quadcopter & Multirotor discussions' started by DCrane, Feb 3, 2014.

1. DCrane

DCrane New Member

Hi all, I am 100% clueless about drones/copters/RC stuff... Im a Realtor that must buy a product that can take quality arial photo's of homes. Id like to be able to see what the camera is looking at (while im safe on the ground of course LOL), id like something easy to fly and "idiot proof" as it can be, id like less expensive.

Im here before I do ANYTHING... because the one thing im smart enough about is knowing their are other in the world who know all this far more than me who i can ask advise, options, things to concider, etc...

I would be very thankful for this forums input... TY

2. webman

webman Administrator Staff Member

Well, let's assume you aren't in a hurry!
    You should first buy a cheapo copter - if you really want one with a cam on it (just for fun, poor quality), get a WL Toys v222, but otherwise consider a Hubsan Quads X4 or a Syma X1.

The purpose of this quadcopter is just to get a couple hours of flight time so you start knowing what is involved. Oh, and please - download or buy the paper copy of the book I wrote....it will save you a lot of time and money!
    (Search Amazon for quadcopter book).....

All machines are a compromise! But, as a quickie, I'd say the DJI Phantom Vision would do a great job for basic real estate photography. It's about $1200 and includes a high res camera which can take good stills and/or video. BUT, video post-production is a difficult task, so I think you are better with still pictures for most realty shots.
    Here is an article about the 4 DJI Phantom Models
    https://www.droneflyers.com/2014/01/dji-phantom-models-differences-hobbyists-guide/