FPV transmission modes/Band info needed

Discussion in 'Misc. Quadcopter & Multirotor discussions' started by Steve Jones, Feb 2, 2018.

1. Steve Jones

Steve Jones New Member

Ok, I'm a 65 year old newbie, with some electronic experience.
    I just got an UPAIR ONE drone V1.2. It only has a 25mW 5.8Ghz transmitter for the FPV signal and a dipole antenna hidden in its legs, and it looks like range and noise are concerns.
    Both the Drone transmitter and the FPV controller have a single button to change channels.

I'm interested in extending the range and like the features of the TS5800 video transmitter so I can easily install a vertical down Circular Polarized antenna also with added power when needed.
    The problem is, I see the specs for this transmitter (58200) has multiple bands in addition to channels. but the UpAirOne FVP controller does not seem to have a way to change bands. so I'm uncertain if they mix or match.

1st question: would this transmitter be compatible with the receiver in FPV controller that came with the UpAirOne?

2nd question is if the channels are compatible (even if on just 1 band) will the drone's video signal pass thru correctly? Is there a standard format for Drone Video?? I'm assuming the flight controller adds drone info on the vertical flyback trace period of the analog video signal.

3rd question is is there any documentation on these formats out there?

2. RGJameson

RGJameson Active Member

Most VTXs and Goggles have at least 40 channels to choose from, one has to be yours.

That said ~700+M of range seems like enough to me. :) Note he claims it has a 50mW.

I am not sure if the long range we see is due to the inexpensive Goggles he's using. That said there are a lot of fancy long range FPV antennas for goggles.
    LR antenna

I would be more more concerned with the annoying camera/gimbal jitter I always see in reviews. Could just be the dampening balls, too soft/wiggly? There are differences.