1. Dr. Mac

Dr. Mac New Member

Hi everybody. I am totally new to this hobby, I have no RC experience, but I have recently started to get interested in quads. It started with watching av clip on youtube about the DJI Phantom, and I thought that this is a hobby I could really enjoy. After reading lots of posts on different forums and reviews, my plan is to start out with a small "beginner" quad, and then advance to a bigger and more advanced one. I was planning to get the Syma X1, but then the V222 looked very interesting as well. I couldn`t resist the idea of small quad to a decent price, with a premounted camera, ready to fly. So I have recently ordered the V222 with extra batteries and props. Then I start to read a few more posts about the V222, where I find that lots of people have experienced "drop out" problems with the quad, as I understand; it looses connection, and falls to the ground. What do you guys think, have I made a bad choice ? should I have gone for the previous model, or perhaps the X1 or Hubsan Quads X4 ? Anyone who has any experience with the V222 ?

2. jbrumberg

jbrumberg Member

Welcome Dr. Mac:

If one is so inclined any of those choices could have been a good choice. The Syma X1 and V222 are a little large to learn to fly indoors, but they all can get one started on "The Path" if one is so predisposed. Once you get past basic hovering and orientation exercises (figure 8's etc.) they really perform best outdoors. The Syma X1 is the only 3 axis quadcopter of those quads you mentioned. A 3 axis quadcopter requires more Tx stick input than a 6 axis quad. Some people consider 3 axis quads to be better "trainers" for flying because of the need for constant stick adjustment. For video 6 axis stabilization is superior to 3 axis.

3. Dr. Mac

Dr. Mac New Member