Hubsan 501S Rocking in GPS hover

Discussion in 'Specific Models of Quadcopters and Drones' started by Dave1960, Jun 14, 2016.

1. Dave1960

Dave1960 New Member

Hi, firstly let me say I'm totally new to Hubsan Quads but I do have a Q500, Blade 200 QX, and a 450 spider. So I was looking to buy a small quad with GPS to carry in a backpack when an advert popped up on a FB group offering a Hubsan Quads 501S for sale. I went and took a look and all seemed in order so I bought it. I charged the battery and flew it without issue except if I engage GPS and put it in a hover it's got a small but very annoying rock from side to side. Is this normal? Could this be a gains issue? if so how can I correct it or lastly could this be down to an unbalanced prop?

Thanks in anticipation!

Dave

2. webman

webman Administrator Staff Member

That machine is too new for us to know too much about it.
    My first guess is that the GPS is trying to keep it steady and that could have something to do with the rocking.
    Another guess would be to see if there is a way you can reset the IMU and the compass calibration.

Most of the stock props these days are fairly well balanced out of the box...

Then again, this particular machine is not really made for ultimate stability - it's a bit of a cross between an FPV 250 type and the larger GPS quads.

That said, I am going to get one soon myself - was waiting for some of the initial bugs to be worked out (I always wait 3 months or so after any new machine comes on the market just to sort out whether it's worth buying!).

3. Dave1960

Dave1960 New Member