Buying a Drone: DJI Mavic Pro vs Mavic Air

Discussion in 'Specific Models of Quadcopters and Drones' started by VladTepes, Oct 22, 2018.

?

DJI Mavic Pro vs Mavic Air. I'd choose...

1. I'm a Mavic Pro owner, I'd still choose the Pro

2. I'm a Mavic Pro owner, I wish I had an Air instead.

3. I'm a Mavic Air Owner, I think I made the right choice.

4. I'm a Mavic Air Owner, I wish I had a Pro instead.

5. I own neither, but I'd buy the Mavic Pro.

6. I own neither, but I'd buy the Mavic Air.

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. VladTepes

VladTepes Member

This discussion pertains to the original Mavic Pro (NOT the Mavic 2)

So I've been researching and as far as I can ascertain from the internets:

Mavic Pro

Pros:
    - quieter(or at least less like a swarm of bees)
    - longer flight time
    - ability to program waypoint flights, terrain follow, course lock, home lock.
    - better controller (has telemetry screen)

Cons:
    - gimbal susceptible to damage? (less protected)
    - somewhat heavier / less portable
    - fewer sensors for obstacle avoidance (none to the reverse)

Mavic Air

Pros:
    - more sensors for obstacle avoidance (reverse as well as forward, down)
    - gimbal better protected
    - lighter

Cons:
    - shorter flight time
    - noisier
    - basic flight modes only
    - more basic controller

Camera

On the camera issue most comparative shots I've seen for the Air are against the Mavic 2 Pro which is hardly a fair comparison. Several reviews mention the Air has a better camera than the Mavic Pro, but on what basis? I suppose there's also a difference between whether main desire is stills or video...

Have any Pro owners had any times you've felt it wanting for a feature, which the Air now offers?

I found this interesting review from a photographers perspective.
    http://www.onepointtwo.photo/blog/mavic-pro-vs-mavic-air/2018/2/6